Tuesday Poem-Paint Drizzled Poems

as Hotere can write across his art

and cause a splash

so shall I find fame

by hanging

paint drizzled poems

 

and as artists fill their foyers

with elucidating words

so I shall place a picture

or a hodge podge of buttons

straw cutouts beads etc.

 

and in a sunlit space

a skeleton

suspended upside down

to drain away the flesh

sculpted poetry

and the spare words

will be painted white

framed with heart rimu

poetic illumination

 

and there will be  

a dark poem

a wall of letters

black on black

in a room unlit

unlit so you

can flick the light

and check that there is none

(c) Helen McKinlay

This poem was inspired by art exhibitions which begin with walls covered in words. Also there is the added factor that paintings often contain words…Hmm. It has previously been published in ‘Splash,’ published by Airing Cupboard Women’s Poets in 2009.

At present I am in a part of  Golden Bay which gets infrequent reception which is my excuse for being late this week.
Do return to Tuesday Poets and read Leah’s editorial post. You won’t regret it.

12 thoughts on “Tuesday Poem-Paint Drizzled Poems

  1. That’s an interesting one Helen, particularly the black on black, and the lack of illumination.

    Mmm, I must invent a place with poor reception like Golden Bay in case I’m late. Sheep’s Leap? Lassiter’s Reef? Needs more work.

  2. Thanks Penelope:-) I quite like Sheep’s Leap actually! They would be leaping in frustration if they were dealing with my internet but it is a good excuse for a rest! as well. And no better place to have one.

  3. I really like the way this poem winds down at the end. Words on walls, art and poetry — such a good flow to this. Glad I made it here — had a hard early week with internet issues myself, ha! Connected for a brief time just now so I’m glad I can stop in here this week! Will go back and read a few more too… 🙂

  4. Brilliant opening, Helen. And ‘sculpted poetry’…that’s the way I think of your poems – chiselled back to their beautiful and sufficient bones.

  5. Love the inspiration behind this poem, Helen! I really admire how in a poem where you discuss colour, the only two colours mentioned are black and white – very clever and really got me thinking! It really stresses that sparseness and sculpted quality. Great stuff, as always 🙂

Leave a Reply

