Tuesday Poem-Hand in Hand

this morning I awoke

and found

one hand

in my other                                                                                         

such tenderness there was

as if I

were meeting me

for the first time

 

a sad sweet moment

in a faraway place

passing by

and pausing

to touch

and hold

unknown fingers

 

(c) Helen McKinlay

Hands of God and Adam Sistine Chapel, fresco Michelangelo

Hands of God and Adam
Sistine Chapel, fresco Michelangelo

Hello this is a small poem by me to be going on with.  I wrote this a number of years ago when I did actually wake up holding my own hand. It was a nice feeling…a kind of acceptance of myself and it was tender. I guess if we can’t be kind to ourselves we aren’t going to manage it too well with others.

Well it’s getting closer to Christmas and I have a Christmas story to share with you all soon.  It’s got something to do with the book Grandma’s Kiwi Christmas which you can see if you scroll down my left hand column.  If you click on the cover you can have a peep inside…that’s if the link is working. It seems lately that links come and go!

Have a relaxing week. and before you leave if you haven’t already visit Tuesday Poem’s main page and read this week’s featured poem.  It is totally worth it.

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Poem-Hand in Hand

  1. Such a gentle, poignant experience – and poem – Helen. It is perfect for the crazy Christmas season when it is nice to ground oneself and remember small kindnesses to ourselves and others 🙂 Just love your Grandma books!!!!!

Leave a Reply

