Tuesday Poem – I Could Have Roused You

 

you were asleep

your face

a pink flush

on the pillow

 

I could have roused you

instead

I took the boat

and rowed

out into the harbour

into the sunrise

 

I can’t tell you

how splendid it was

to be there

alone

in a molten world

I wrote this poem a number of years ago.  I have actually filched it off my website.  (Am nursing a broken rib at present so taking a few shortcuts).  If you want to see the great ‘flash’ image made by my friend Chin to go with this poem go here     And if you haven’t already been there visit Tuesday Poem and read a poem to touch your heartstrings, Bogong Moth by Joe Dolce, chosen by this week’s editor Jennifer Compton.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Poem – I Could Have Roused You

Leave a Reply

