Tuesday Poem – Funeral Blues by W H Auden

I randomly came across the poet WH Auden today. I know I have read him but think it was way back …like at school and something put me off reading him again. This time when I searched him out, the  first poem I came across was Funeral Blues.This striking love poem was first written in the 1930s. It and Auden were taken more seriously as time progressed and when it was used in the movie Four Weddings and a Funeral it caused a rush of popularity for Auden, possibly because of the sweeping changes in attitudes to ‘gay’ love.

Stop all the clocks, cut off the telephone,
Prevent the dog from barking with a juicy bone,
Silence the pianos and with muffled drum
Bring out the coffin, let the mourners come… read more

I can’t print more because it is still under copyright. but do read it, or go to this link where it was dramatically read in the film Four Weddings and a Funeral.

That’s all from me this week. Other spheres of life are keeping me occupied!

Meanwhile please go to the Tuesday Poem Hub if you haven’t done so and read the truly perceptive and tender poem Yawn by Sarah Rice, posted by Jennifer Compton.

 

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Poem – Funeral Blues by W H Auden

Leave a Reply

