Tuesday Poem-My Shadow-Robert Louis Stevenson-read by Billy Connolly

I have a little shadow that goes in and out with me,
And what can be the use of him is more than I can see.
He is very, very like me from the heels up to the head;
And I see him jump before me, when I jump into my bed.

The funniest thing about him is the way he likes to grow-
Not at all like proper children, which is always very slow;
For he sometimes shoots up taller like an india -rubber ball,
And he sometimes gets so little that there’s none of him at all.

He hasn’t got a notion of how children ought to play,
And can only make a fool of me in every sort of way.
He stays so close beside me, he’s a coward you can see;
I’d think shame to stick to nursie as that shadow sticks to me.

One morning, very early, before the sun was up,
I rose and found the shining dew on every buttercup;
But my lazy little shadow, like an arrant sleepy-head,
Had stayed at home behind me and was fast asleep in bed.

 

 

 

 This poem, is still one of the most popular short poems around.  Personally I love the detail of its observation. As adults I think we take our shadows for granted. I know I do.  But take a few moments to remember what an amazing thing a shadow really is!  This week I have made a pledge to become reaquainted with mine. Care to join me? If you are a tad unsure how…ask a young one to help you out. And if you are a young one and reading this…you can show mum or dad or gran and pops how! 🙂 You could start by watching this clip of ‘My Shadow,’ read by Billy Connolly.

images

For information on Robert Louis Stevenson  click here.

And or to return to Tuesday Poem’s hub, click here.

8 thoughts on “Tuesday Poem-My Shadow-Robert Louis Stevenson-read by Billy Connolly”

  1. Oops! Good to see you’re up with the play Penelope…Of course it was …why I remember the day it came out…I was talking to Oscar Wilde or was it…? 🙂 Thank you!

  2. I’ve always loved the line concerning the shadow as a coward – it gives such strength to the individual. We are all courageous, even just from the perspective of our shadows!

  3. That’s very perceptive of you Elizabeth. It’s interesting how
    deep this poem actually is as well as being fun and full of the intelligence of a child! And yes, we ARE all courageous.:-)

  4. Such fun – what a blast from the past – and I can’t help but notice you’ve embedded a video – and it’s awesome – you’re far more technologically savy than you let on!!! 🙂

  5. It is fun isn’t it! And thank you for your kind words…I try to keep it simple…And I’m learning that in blogging things swim around the page because they are invisibly attached to other things …the shadows of the internet so to speak.:-)

  6. Wonderful to finally make it over here today and read this/ see this. Such a fun trek back through time, but an enduring idea/ message. Nice choice to share with us this week. And I love the kids talking at the beginning of the video about poems — and B. Connelly of course. He does this a good turn!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.